Is Duff Clueless?

Decorating By SueW Updated 30 Jul 2007 , 3:24am by baka4lyfe20

SueW Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SueW Posted 27 Jul 2007 , 3:15am
post #1 of 88

No offense, I am a fan but how did he not know that fondant came in colors icon_surprised.gif I just watched his show and he was told by another decorator he could buy it already colored and he was shocked icon_lol.gif Too funny!

87 replies
JoAnnB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoAnnB Posted 27 Jul 2007 , 3:25am
post #2 of 88

I am also a fan. It was hilarious when he was told that fondant comes already colored.

I would guess he started with one company, and just kept using the same product. Unless he went shopping for it, he wouldn't know.

jmt1714 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jmt1714 Posted 27 Jul 2007 , 3:43am
post #3 of 88

i dunno - if I make cakes for a living, I think I take the time to figure out what is out there. Seemed a little funny to me. I have to think that was a planned set-up. i mean geez - even Yuck Wilton makes colored fondant.

RobzC8kz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
RobzC8kz Posted 27 Jul 2007 , 3:52am
post #4 of 88

I guess you just get used to doing something the "Old Fashioned" way and you just never think about checking to see if things have changed! I use Satin Ice fondant for all of my cakes which require fondant. It's very easy to use, very elastic, and it has a great taste!! I would be embarassed to use that nasty Wilton fondant on any of my customer's cakes!! I did some research on fondant and chose the Satin Ice after trying various brands. I don't like the white chocolate fondant because it melts too easy and is too hard to work with...but it tastes GREAT!!! I was surprised to see how surprised Duff was when he learned he could order Satin Ice fondant in premixed colors!!! But like I said...unless you go looking for new things, you don't find them!!

mkolmar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mkolmar Posted 27 Jul 2007 , 3:52am
post #5 of 88