Cake Decorating

Decorating By angel56 Updated 25 Jun 2007 , 3:23pm by azeboi2005

angel56 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
angel56 Posted 23 Jun 2007 , 11:59pm
post #1 of 15

How did everyone develop their cake decorating skills? Did some of you get training or did you teach yourself? I was wondering because everyone is so good. I am new at this and wanted to know how you guys got started in selling your cakes. icon_smile.gif

14 replies
marybible Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
marybible Posted 24 Jun 2007 , 12:05am
post #2 of 15

I took the Wilton classes at Michaels. They were very helpful. But I am no where near a lot of the people on this site. I think you can tell who decorates for a living and who decorates for hobby.

terri-jo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
terri-jo Posted 24 Jun 2007 , 12:26am
post #3 of 15

I started by teaching myself. I was able to make things taste great, but I lacked the Tricks of the Trade to make them looked really good. So, I took two professional courses here in Toronto...one in gum-paste flowers, and one long course for wedding and specialty cakes. I'd love to do more courses, but with three small kids, there just isn't the time right now. I do sell my cakes, but would love to have a "real" business. I get so much inspiration, and so many ideas here at CC.

MCook Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MCook Posted 24 Jun 2007 , 12:34am
post #4 of 15

Hi and welcome to CC

I got started 26 yrs ago when I got married. My mother-in-law did cakes as a second job. I knew nothing about "professional" cake decorating and all the tips, bags etc. until then. She showed me all her Wilton year books and showed me how to make roses and how to make bags out of freezer paper(instead of parchment like it is done now) because it was cheaper and they were always on a tight budget at that time. I did birthday cakes for my kids and anniversary cakes for family members.