Cake Collapse

Business By Jfd0413 Updated 23 Jun 2019 , 3:03pm by SquirrellyCakes

Jfd0413 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jfd0413 Posted 23 Jun 2019 , 11:48am
post #1 of 5

Hello all. I’m relatively new in the baking business and my worst fear happened yesterday. I made a beautiful wedding cake that was perfect before transport, but the bottom layer ended up collapsing in on the side during transport. It was completely stabilized with dowel Ross and bubble tea straws, I think it was just the filling that ended up somehow making the cake too soft so it gaves in on itself. I attempted to “fix” it the best I could but it looked terrible. I felt terrible for my customer and obviously refunded her.  I am embarrassed and now fearful of doing any more weddings.  I guess I have a few questions. 

How do you recover from this?

This was only 2 tiers, is it really necessary to assemble even a 2 tier on site? How do you assure transporting goes well?

4 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 23 Jun 2019 , 1:21pm
post #2 of 5

I delivered my cakes cold and sealed in corrugated cardboard boxes so they were climate controlled — it gets very muggy in memphis —

you mentioned the filling — you need to pipe a dam of icing around the top perimeter of the cake layers so the layer above the filling has something to adhere to so the tier doesn’t slide and collapse —

no you don’t need to stack on site but you need to know what you’re doing so my suggestion is to make up an order with a deadline stack/deliver a three tier for practice — box it load it in the car and take it for a spin — so you get the feel of how it goes —

did you insert one dowel, remove it, measure it and cut all dowels that exact same length, then insert them all? if you inserted them and then clipped them off to the top of the cake a disaster was bound to happen sooner or later — you did have a cardboard circle under the top tier yes?