Decorating By CNCS Updated 31 Aug 2011 , 5:02pm by rlowry03

CNCS Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CNCS Posted 29 Aug 2011 , 1:37pm
post #1 of 19
18 replies
sweetviolet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetviolet Posted 29 Aug 2011 , 2:09pm
post #2 of 19

Hi! I'm not sure what the technique is called. I'm pretty new at cakes but I think that this was done in BC and with one of those x-large tips. Maybe a large rose tip? I would also say that you would work the "stripes" from the top down alternating the side that you start on to create the layered look. I'm not sure but that's how I would try it and then tweak it from there to get it right. I think you can also do this with fondant strip rolled thin. Hope this helps!

inspiredbymom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
inspiredbymom Posted 29 Aug 2011 , 2:18pm
post #3 of 19

I don't know but I would like to find out too. It is beautiful!

ReneeFLL Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ReneeFLL Posted 29 Aug 2011 , 2:20pm
post #4 of 19

It is strips of fondant placed on the cake. Start at the top and work your way down. It looks like the roses are made of modeling chocolate with shaved chocolate on the tops of the cakes.

seedrv Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
seedrv Posted 29 Aug 2011 , 2:20pm
post #5 of 19

I don't know what the technique is called but I think it looks like white chocolate piecies with chocolate shavings sprinkled on top. IMHO

not_the_cake_boss Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
not_the_cake_boss Posted 29 Aug 2011 , 6:07pm
post #6 of 19

I'm new to cake decorating too but it kinda looks like strips of fondant with one edge rounded and layered from top to bottom of each tier.

fondantgrl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
fondantgrl Posted 29 Aug 2011 , 6:23pm
post #7 of 19

definitely not buttercream... to clean. that is modeling chocolate, overlapped from the top going down..

BizCoCos Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BizCoCos Posted 29 Aug 2011 , 10:09pm
post #8 of 19