Circles On This Cake?

Decorating By blessedist Updated 13 Aug 2010 , 11:21pm by millermom

blessedist Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
blessedist Posted 13 Aug 2010 , 8:10pm
post #1 of 8

http://www.wilton.com/idea/Your-Feelings-Ring-True

I am using this technique in September for a 60th birthday cake. The instructions call for color flow for the ovals but I want this cake to be as sturdy as possible and I think that if 1 oval cracks it will create the domino affect. I was thinking maybe gumpaste or a 50/50 mix (gp and fondant) for the ovals and attaching with royal? Any suggestions would be appreciated!

If I use the color flow, won't the circles crack easily? I've never worked with color flow before icon_redface.gif

7 replies
Caths_Cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Caths_Cakes Posted 13 Aug 2010 , 8:16pm
post #2 of 8

Excellent cake icon_smile.gif Sorry i cant give you an answer on the colour flow, But i think it would look better than gumpaste as its got that curved look to it, Rather than flat ykwim?

blessedist Posted 13 Aug 2010 , 8:20pm
post #3 of 8

Yeah, I was thinkng that too about the colorflow b/c it's shinier and I know it would have that dimensional look but I just feel like since they are all attached, if 1 cracks, I'll be in trouble trying to fix that 1 and may end up cracking another

dm321 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dm321 Posted 13 Aug 2010 , 8:42pm
post #4 of 8

I understand what Caths_Cakes means about the curved look you can get from colorflow sort of like a softer edge. However, I dont think the flat edges youd get from gp or a gp/f mix would look bad. Just my opinion As with any cake, it comes down to attention to detail and how well you can execute the plan.

BTW its a really pretty cake. Cant wait to see it when you post the pic(s)!

~diem

Montrealconfections Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Montrealconfections Posted 13 Aug 2010 , 9:09pm
post #5 of 8