Coloring Bc Frosting Red

Decorating By lmburlingame Updated 20 Nov 2009 , 9:32pm by ailika

lmburlingame Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lmburlingame Posted 13 Nov 2009 , 7:09pm
post #1 of 9

Hi everyone.

I'm a complete newb to this site, but from what I've seen so far, I LOVE it! Anyway, this has probably been asked before, but how do you color home made BC frosting red? I'm using Wilton Red Red, No Taste Red, and Christmas Red (sometimes all 3 at the same time) but it always comes out hot pink - not so good for a boy's cake. LOL. I've also tried putting cranberry or cherry juice in it as well to give it a base color. So far, it's still pink. Any tips would be greatly appreciated. Thanks so much!

8 replies
KHalstead Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KHalstead Posted 13 Nov 2009 , 7:15pm
post #2 of 9

First of all, toss the wilton colors (sorry Wilton)....if you have a local cake supply store call and ask if they carry "americolor gels" icing colors. They have a super red and it literally takes 2 drops to color a whole bowl of white icing a nice dark red! Also it has absolutely NO TASTE whatsoever

Welcome to CC, you'll love it here!

PuffCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PuffCake Posted 13 Nov 2009 , 7:22pm
post #3 of 9

Another vote for Americolor Super Red. It will never let you down! It's super concentrated and has no taste whatsoever. It's awesome!

lmburlingame Posted 13 Nov 2009 , 7:35pm
post #4 of 9

Fantastic! Thanks so much for the advice! icon_smile.gif I'll def be trying that soon as I'm making both a train cake (& need something for the caboose) and a Superman cake soon. No one wants to see a hot pink Superman. icon_wink.gif

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 14 Nov 2009 , 1:26am
post #5 of 9

Intense colors like navy blue; brown; black and red are very hard to achieve.
Make the colors at least the night before you need them. The colors develops over time and when exposed to air.
Yes, AmeriColor is good.