Should I...offer A Lower-Price Cake Option??

Business By Chef_Stef Updated 16 May 2009 , 8:18am by 350BakerStreet

sarahsarah Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sarahsarah Posted 13 Mar 2009 , 2:00pm
post #31 of 95

Hey everybody! I know I am new to this site, but I am not new to business... I have worked for fortune 50 companies for over 15 years. The bottom line right now in business is that people are looking for a more affordable option for EVERYTHING... from cars, to clothing, to appliances. Right now at my day job (I am a manager at an oven/range manufacturing plant) we are seeing a dramatic shift in our product mix from high end to the low to medium range products. Look around in other industries besides cakes... you will see this everywhere. Anyone have young daughters? Limited Too is switching many of their stores to Justice... which is about a 30% less expensive line. There is a marketing reason for this. They are changing to provide what their consumers want. The fact of the matter is... if you want to stay in business and keep it a healthy one, you need to take a look at what the market is asking for and make a product line to meet this need. Be aware of what people really care about in your cakes, and what is just "fluff". Take the fluff out. Take the variety out. All these things will add up to a lower total cost for you and a lower price point for your customer. And, by all means, market the value cakes under a different name...

littlecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
littlecake Posted 13 Mar 2009 , 2:03pm
post #32 of 95

i'm already doing it, and they are selling like hot cakes...it is really helping the bottom line...i'm really excited about it....i tell them i've figured out a way that people who have been hurt by the economy can still have a nice cake...not many options..no tasting...no long consults...no bridezillas...i love it.