Need Help With Pricing...

Decorating By tamrick Updated 21 Sep 2008 , 12:35am by dmhart

tamrick Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tamrick Posted 19 Sep 2008 , 11:02pm
post #1 of 22

Hi Everyone! First off, I am fairly new to decorating, little over a year. I've basically been giving "freebies" to family functions as gifts, just to get my name out. Now, I am starting to get people interested in ordering from me, but I have no clue as to what to charge! I know that you charge by serving, serving usually go by Wiltons. I comprehend that concept, especially for wedding cakes, but what about birthday cakes, or the like? For example, a 8" cake serves 24, at say $2.00/serving would be $48.00. I live in a very rural area, and most people would rather to the Save Easy and get one for $20.00! How do I justify the price difference? (My own family would go for the cheaper one!)

Also, if say $2.00 is the base price, does that include say flowers, transfers, etc? Or are they extra? I know this has all been discussed before, but I am just not grasping it!

I have an order for a 5X7 oval, basket weave with fondant leaves and a couple of pumpkins made from cake balls. Do I just charge the $26? My cost for the cake alone is $14.00. I use WASC and IMBC.

Any help would greatly be appreciated, and I am sorry if I missed a topic already on this!

Tammy

21 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 19 Sep 2008 , 11:35pm
post #2 of 22

I dont' care what they call it .... wedding cake, birthday cake, kiss my butt cake ... it's the same work, same cake, same price.

Why would a 2-tier highly decorated cake cost less just because they CALL it a birthday cake instead of a wedding cake? icon_confused.gif

It's time to bust the myth that "birthday cakes cost about 20 bucks". That's true ONLY if you buy a twenty dollar cake.