Call Me Stupid, But I Need Help Decorating This Cake!!!

Decorating By tgirl22 Updated 22 Sep 2008 , 10:38pm by becky27

tgirl22 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tgirl22 Posted 15 Aug 2008 , 2:35am
post #1 of 11

I am new to decorating, so I am not sure how to pull this off. But I am having a baby shower for my best friend 9/21, (she is due 10/26) and the theme is going to be Mommy's Lil' Pumpkin. Her mother-in-law found a picture of the "perfect cake" on Google, and doesn't even know where. There were no instructions with it, but I included a picture. Does anyone know how to do this??? Thanks in advance!!!!
LL

10 replies
Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 15 Aug 2008 , 2:45am
post #2 of 11

It looks like they baked the pumpkin in a casserole dish with a rounded bottom, because it's flatter than the average glass mixing bowl.

Then they leveled the cake and part of the domed part that was cut off became the baby's face. It went on the layer cake and was decorated. Then, they cut part of the pumpkin to be the lid/hat, arranged it all, frosted it yellow (or covered with yellow fondant) and then piped fat orange lines with a round tip.

clarasmommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
clarasmommy Posted 15 Aug 2008 , 2:51am
post #3 of 11

It kinda looks like the easter egg pan, cut off.

SouthernSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SouthernSugar Posted 15 Aug 2008 , 2:55am
post #4 of 11

This almost looks like half of the Wilton stand up pumpkin pan with the top trimmed off and used for the hat. It is adorable. Good luck with it.

jolmk Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jolmk Posted 15 Aug 2008 , 3:04am
post #5 of 11

Wilton makes a jack-o-lantern cake pan. I don't think it's the same shape as that one, but might save you some time. You will need to check the dimensions to make sure it would fit on the sheet cake. Good Luck.

Jo

2sdae Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
2sdae Posted 15 Aug 2008 , 9:42am
post #6 of 11