Am I Being Difficult?

Decorating By cfloyd Updated 25 Jul 2008 , 7:51pm by costumeczar

cfloyd Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cfloyd Posted 24 Jul 2008 , 2:54am
post #1 of 50

Okay, I have a question for you. I am a beginner. I am currently taking Wilton Course 3 and love it. I make 1 or 2 practice cakes every weekend. I take some of the cakes to my parents and some to work. My problem is this, my husband refuses to take cake to share with his co-workers. Granted, he is kind of high up in the company. He says he does not feel that it looks right for him to be carrying in a cake. I say who doesn't like cake. He says that he will not be my cake pimp. I am not trying to sell the cakes, just trying to get rid of them so that I don't eat them. I figure he could be the really nice boss that brings in a cake every week. He refuses and we fight about it just about every week. I know my cakes aren't perfect yet, but I do think that they taste pretty good. What do you think? Am I just being difficult? icon_mad.gif

49 replies
BlakesCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BlakesCakes Posted 24 Jul 2008 , 3:23am
post #2 of 50

I'll be honest, I see both points and I think he holds the trump card. He really does have the right to decide what his "image" is at work. If he's uncomfortable with bringing in the cakes, I'd just drop it. It doesn't sound as if he's ashamed of your creations, just that he doesn't want to be know as the "cake guy" vs. "the boss". Really, that's OK.

If you can accept that these are just the cost of needing practice, chuck 'em out! No one says that you have to get fat in order to be a good decorator.

On the other hand, you could take them to (a) church on Sunday, freeze them (if they're buttercream) and serve them when you need one in a hurry, find a nursing home or hospital nearby where the staff might enjoy them, take them to the local fire or police department, etc.