Airbrushing And Mixer Questions...

Decorating By HipnotiqGlamour Updated 12 Jul 2008 , 8:01am by HipnotiqGlamour

HipnotiqGlamour Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HipnotiqGlamour Posted 15 Jun 2008 , 8:49pm
post #1 of 13

Hello I am new to cake decorating and just bought a house and am remodeling my kitchen. I am also looking to buy a airbrush gun as well as a mixer.

My questions are there any cheap airbrushes out there I can buy or do I have to purchase something thats crazy expensive? I heard a few ladies say they have bought some for $19.99 do they work as good?

ALSO Mixers....what kind should I get...watts, brand etc?

Thank you
Brandi

12 replies
Cake_Princess Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cake_Princess Posted 16 Jun 2008 , 1:11am
post #2 of 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by HipnotiqGlamour

ALSO Mixers....what kind should I get...watts, brand etc?

Thank you
Brandi

Hello and welcome to decorating. With regards to the wattage, the higher you go the more power you get. So 425 W will give you more power than 175 W. My suggestion is to compare the bowl size, the wattage, addition features and use that as a guide to help you decide what you can afford

2txmedics Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
2txmedics Posted 23 Jun 2008 , 2:29pm
post #3 of 13

Welcome, you will love this site!!! it becomes addictive...I find Im only going to sit here and have coffee in the morning...maybe 1hr...next thing you know...its 3-4hrs later, and Im moving around the house cleaning and clicking my mouse. icon_biggrin.gif

I havent tried air brushing yet...but would love too...but this is my thought, I hate to spend 200.00 on something I might not be able to work with and cant handle. So I was thinking for home projects and to practice of buying a model store air brush kit...for like 20.00-35.00 and try that to see if I like it and can work with it...if so...then if I still need something bigger than I will graduate and now on higher.