Late Night Baker Needs Help!!

Decorating By ashianadotkom Updated 8 Aug 2005 , 5:22am by SquirrellyCakes

ashianadotkom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ashianadotkom Posted 6 Aug 2005 , 6:31am
post #1 of 20

I am making my son's birthdayday cake. It's a blues clues cake and it's my first time using a character pan
My problem is i can't get the cake to come out of the pan in one piece
I read somewhere to use poundcakes for easier release
Is this right?? I am using a devil's food cake recipe that calls for cake flour so i am thinking this might be a very light cake for such pan
Please tell me your tips on character pan

Thank you

19 replies
gma1956 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gma1956 Posted 6 Aug 2005 , 6:35am
post #2 of 20

How well did you grease the pan and then did you flour the pan after your greased it.

ashianadotkom Posted 6 Aug 2005 , 6:41am
post #3 of 20

oh yeah of course!
I never had problem with any other round and square pan.

Ashiana

Cakepro Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakepro Posted 6 Aug 2005 , 8:02am
post #4 of 20

I just use spray Pam with all cake pans, including character cakes, and I've never had a problem with a cake releasing from the pan.

Do you have time to do another one or are you going to glue your cake parts together with icing?

tcturtleshell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tcturtleshell Posted 6 Aug 2005 , 8:08am
post #5 of 20

I don't know if you got the cake out yet, if you haven't do this...
Run some VERY HOT water in your sink, just enough to dip your cake pan in. Dip it in the hot water for about a minute. Then try to turn it over. If it doesn't work then leave it in the water longer. It will work, I have had to do that lots of times. Something I learned from my Mamaw~ icon_smile.gif