Mmf

Decorating By FaithsPlace Updated 27 Jul 2007 , 5:47am by bananabread

FaithsPlace Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FaithsPlace Posted 25 Jul 2007 , 9:18pm
post #1 of 10

Im sure there are a million threads out there on this but, I wanted to ask....what is everyones fav mmf recipe? I am going to practice on this for a event I have in the next couple of weeks and wondered what was your favorite recipe? What works best? I have seen so many wonderful pics of cakes that have been covered in mmf and wondered what kind was used....

Thanks so much!!

9 replies
beverlyanne Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beverlyanne Posted 25 Jul 2007 , 11:02pm
post #2 of 10

I'm interested in seeing the feedback on this also. Does MMF taste better than the stuff you get from the Wilton box (don't mean to sound ignorant -- I'm a Newbie)? Thanks.

Bev

JoAnnB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoAnnB Posted 25 Jul 2007 , 11:03pm
post #3 of 10

There is really not much difference: marshmallows, water and powdered sugar. Adding some shortening can help the texture, but not everyone agrees.

the trick is to know what fondant should feel like, so you don't add too much powdered sugar. Also, it helps to start with a recipe that is only for 1 pound of powdered sugar. A smaller batch is a bit more manageable for the first batch.

cajundecoration Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cajundecoration Posted 26 Jul 2007 , 3:22am
post #4 of 10

I have been using Rhonda's Ultimate MMF recipe that I found here on CC. I absolutely LOVE it! It actually tastes like a confection, not something that has been prefabricated like the packaged fondant you buy in the stores. I do suggest adding flavorings other than just vanilla. In the Rhonda's recipe, she refers to the Princess Cookie and Cake Emulsion. It tastes wonderful. I ordered it off of Sugarcraft.com.