8O Does Anyone Make Homemade Cakes? Why Or Why Not?

Decorating By brittanydear Updated 29 Oct 2013 , 12:04am by gypsygirl

brittanydear Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brittanydear Posted 24 Jun 2007 , 8:18am
post #1 of 131

Hi,
It seems that I am always reading about cake mixes and doctoring cake mixes. I am an avid home cook and decorator, but always make cakes from scratch. I guess I am just wondering why people prefer cake mix cakes, especially when they take the effort to alter them. I guess I naively thought that most professionals and people who were really into cakes made them from scratch. To me, there is no comparison in taste between a homemade cake and a box mix. So, I guess I am just curious to see what people do and why (not trying to be rude, just to understand, because maybe I am missing something?) So, do you use home made or box, or both, and why??? Is it price? taste? something else?

130 replies
MikeRowesHunny Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MikeRowesHunny Posted 24 Jun 2007 , 8:55am
post #2 of 131

Uh-oh! You're about to wake the big angry beast of the debate between scratch and cake-mix users! People will always do what's best for them, what their skills can cope with and what they feel more comfortable doing. It's a personal choice, no right or wrong, and so long as the customer is satisfied then that's all that matters. But FYI I'm a total scratch baker too, as that's what I prefer to offer to customers because I have the ability to make great scratch cakes, but again, just because that's right for me does not make it right for someone else! thumbs_up.gif

lovely Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lovely Posted 24 Jun 2007 , 9:22am
post #3 of 131

Hey ya,

I am a home cook and do both. Make packet and sometimes do scratch. Can't do packet mix or ready made cookies for the life of me.

Anyhoo thought I'd add the home and makes scratch and box.

Cheers

Leigh

arwa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
arwa Posted 24 Jun 2007 , 9:24am