Help Needed With Piping Please

Decorating By klm34 Updated 18 Mar 2007 , 2:34am by Cakepro

klm34 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
klm34 Posted 17 Mar 2007 , 4:39am
post #1 of 9

Hi everyone,

i'm new to cake and cookie decorating and now that I am COMPLETELY addicted to this site I see how much I have to learn. To be honest I have been more than a bit intimidated by some of the increadible artistry I've seen on this site.

I would love to improve my piping skills. I know it takes practice but I was wondering if anyone has any tips that might help me learn how to pipe designs so perfectly? Thanks for your help! Karen

8 replies
Aliwis000 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Aliwis000 Posted 17 Mar 2007 , 4:51am
post #2 of 9

Being a newbie as well my best advice is practice practice practice and dont give up. I created cakes with the little bit i could do well and that gave me confidence to move up. I am now experimenting with roses and such and am far from perfect but am still having fun.

Good luck, you will do great and remember, this is one hobby where you can eat your mistakes!

scgriffiths Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scgriffiths Posted 17 Mar 2007 , 4:53am
post #3 of 9

I had a look at your photos, and I think your piping is fabulous!

klm34 Posted 17 Mar 2007 , 6:26pm
post #4 of 9

thanks for the encouragement. This site has become an inspiration. I guess it's just try try again. icon_biggrin.gif

tobycat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tobycat Posted 17 Mar 2007 , 6:36pm
post #5 of 9

You can make a practice board for yourself (or buy the small Wilton one to start.) Put clear vinyl or something that you can see through easily. Then get a hold of one of the Wilton mags that shows how to use various tips (or you can draw out something yourself) and practice piping that way. Put the design under the clear plastic or wax paper, whatever, and trace it.

Use wax paper or clear vinyl to practice writing, etc without anything underneath.