I Need Help With Something Similar To This...

Decorating By fytar Updated 14 Oct 2005 , 1:11pm by fytar

fytar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
fytar Posted 11 Oct 2005 , 2:21pm
post #1 of 20

Hi, all. Need some help with something. I want this chocolate bar effect on a cake I'm doing. I bought dark cocoa candy melts. I've never used candy melts before and wonder how to melt them down and spread it out to cut these chocolate "bars". Please help, ASAP!! Thanks! Tarina
LL

19 replies
Kiddiekakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kiddiekakes Posted 11 Oct 2005 , 2:24pm
post #2 of 20

Well I would suspect in this picture the chocolate is real dark chocolate.The bars are made by spreading tempered chocolate out on a large surface and then the bars cut to size.I don't know how it would work with candy melts..I have never tried.The only thing I can say is candy melts are hard to cut perfect after they have set..they tend to crumble if you aren't using a mold or something to pop them out of.Hopefully someone else will have a better solution for you!!

peg818 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
peg818 Posted 11 Oct 2005 , 2:28pm
post #3 of 20

Pour your chocolate on a sheet of plastic, then score with a knife before its hard, then just break apart after it completely sets up.

BTW: i love that picture.

peacockplace Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
peacockplace Posted 11 Oct 2005 , 2:30pm
post #4 of 20

I agree with what the other have said. If it doesn't work for you, you could always do it with chocolate fondant or candy clay. I love the pic... thanks for sharing. It's going into my favorites.

fytar Posted 11 Oct 2005 , 3:36pm
post #5 of 20

I've never made chocolate fondant, but that seems to be the best answer to this. At least they won't break as easily, right? Can I use the MMF recipe with unsweetened melted chocolate bars? I don't know how to make it? HELP!! This was a last minute thing for my cousin and I don't want it to turn into a nightmare!