What Should I Charge (Hobby Baker)?

Business By CassiaM Updated 14 Jan 2022 , 7:36pm by -K8memphis

CassiaM Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CassiaM Posted 11 Jan 2022 , 8:47pm
post #1 of 7

Hello everyone,

I've been baking and making cakes for years. I do them mostly for my kids, but I've also done other birthday parties, and I also did wedding cupcakes once as a gift for my BIL's wedding. 

Recently my sister told her friend who's getting married in June how great she thinks my cakes are and showed the friend pictures. Her friend would like to hire me to make her wedding cake based off of my sisters recommendation and the work of mine that she's seen (she's aware that I'm just a hobby baker, nothing close to a professional). She's also been quoted $800-$1200, and she's hoping not to spend that much. I had a look at a couple of the photos she's interested in having her cake look like and it definitely looks like something I could manage, but I still have a lot of questions, starting with what I should charge (that will be the determining factor of whether I do it or not). I tried to attach the 2 photos that I was sent, but for some reason they won't upload to my post. 

She wants a 4 tier cake - 2 tiers of real cake, and 2 of a dummy cake (which I have never done before), for approximately 60 people. I was thinking of doing a 8" and 10" real cakes, and not sure if I would do 12" and 6" dummy? I also need to clarify if she wants the tiers to be 3 layers or 2. I live in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada which will likely make a difference on the prices. The photos are simple and elegant looking.  Appears to be white fondant (but could also be white BC), with some gold flake type detailing, and artificial flowers either on top (one photo shows white flowers with gold painted edges cascading down the side).