Fondant

Decorating By KatyN Updated 2 Aug 2019 , 7:08pm by SandraSmiley

KatyN Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KatyN Posted 27 Jul 2019 , 1:41am
post #1 of 11

Couple of questions -

1.  Had anyone ever taken a sculpting class to better learn how to make figurines?  It just doesn't come naturally to me.  If there are any particularly good books or videos I'd appreciate it. My internet is wonky at best so if I'm going to watch a video I'd want to be worthwhile!

2.  Fondant.  I live in a VERY small town, where the only thing available is Wilton.  I can get some online - what's worth my money?  I'm new to fondant and would trust the advice of the experienced!

Thank you!    

10 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 27 Jul 2019 , 4:28am
post #2 of 11

Books:  I use library books on working with clay, wood carving, sculpy , even glass creating can give some help   Wilton GumTex/&/or fondant  is ok for learning   I have done mostly small creations that can be seen in my photos on this site  

kakeladi Posted 27 Jul 2019 , 4:54am
post #3 of 11

Check pgs 2, 12,15  & 17 especially in my photo album  

KatyN Posted 29 Jul 2019 , 6:06am
post #4 of 11

Afraid I Couldn't find that  - could you send me the link?

Thanks!

kakeladi Posted 29 Jul 2019 , 5:23pm
post #5 of 11
kakeladi Posted 29 Jul 2019 , 5:38pm
post #6 of 11

Here's a link I found posted by Sandra - might be helpful to you:  https://www.cakecentral.com/forum/t/852059/cute-sitting-boy-tutorial

kakeladi Posted 30 Jul 2019 , 2:03pm
post #7 of 11

Oh crud!!  With the problems this sight has — especially with pictures— I guess you can’t actually see my pix:(   Sorry-I tried to help 

Freckles0829 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Freckles0829 Posted 31 Jul 2019 , 12:39pm
post #8 of 11