Does Anyone Know How To Make Shiny Looking Blue Sea On A Cake?

Baking By Sonjy1948 Updated 13 Apr 2019 , 2:08am by SandraSmiley

Sonjy1948 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sonjy1948 Posted 11 Apr 2019 , 6:59pm
post #1 of 5

HI,  

Some years ago I used to work in a school and one of the children's  mothers made  a cake for her daughters teacher. It was absolutely beautiful.

The theme was the seaside and she had made a cliff,  the sand and the blue sea with little seabirds swimming on it. What intrigued me most was how she made the sea.  It looked like blue glass , it appeared almost transparent and had little  flecks of white foam at the edges. I have tried so hard to find out how this could be made. I should have asked then but it was the end of the school term and they moved away before the new term started.

Does anyone have any ideas? 

4 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 11 Apr 2019 , 9:23pm
post #2 of 5

you could use piping gel for the blue and buttercream for the white

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 11 Apr 2019 , 11:21pm
post #3 of 5

That’s what I would do.  If that isn’t exactly what you want Maybe use gelatin by using less water—like 1/2 or even less but if you do be sure you have a strong border to contain it   You might want to color the area a light green or blue 

angesradieux Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
angesradieux Posted 12 Apr 2019 , 8:34pm
post #4 of 5