Must-Have Tools For Cake Decorating?

Decorating By manumaan Updated 21 Mar 2018 , 9:04pm by -K8memphis

manumaan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
manumaan Posted 20 Mar 2018 , 11:50am
post #1 of 6

I am a budding cake decorator who wants to learn all the various cake decorating techniques. I want to get all the tools required for this trade. I would like your help to know what are the must-have tools. 

I currently have:

Cake Turntable

2 star tips 

Flat and offset Spatula

Piping bags.

Cake lifter which i am using as a side smoother

I am thinking i would need atleast:

1. A set of piping tips

2. Fondant shaping tools set

What else i am missing here? Are wiltons decorating sets recommended? I am total noob.

5 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 20 Mar 2018 , 5:18pm
post #2 of 6

must-have tools? all of them heart_eyesclapstuck_out_tongue

BCJean Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BCJean Posted 21 Mar 2018 , 4:43am
post #3 of 6

Must-Have Tools For Cake Decorating?The tools depend on the type of decorating you want to do.  I like to think my hands control most of the decorating.  I use a total of about 10 different tips to do figure piping, sculpting and buttercream flowers.  Many years ago, like in 2005 or 2006 we had a tip of the month contest and you had to decorate a cake using only one tip, of your choice.  For the month of October I chose tip # 5.  This is the cake I decorated with that tip.

-K8memphis Posted 21 Mar 2018 , 10:29am
post #4 of 6

that is way cool, bcjean

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 21 Mar 2018 , 7:30pm
post #5 of 6