Again....mixer

Baking By Juds2323 Updated 18 Jul 2017 , 12:50am by nmbakes

Juds2323 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Juds2323 Posted 17 Jul 2017 , 2:54am
post #1 of 7

Ok.... My dilemma is this.  My old stand mixer is dying.  Have to unplug it to turn it off and it doesn't have the power it had anymore.  So need to get a new mixer.  Had my eye on a kitchenaid for a long time.  But am very nervous about it.  The one I found a deal on is a 6qt pro bowl lift with a glass bowl - which has a bunch of iffy reviews on the bowl and the beater/bowl situation.  Thought about getting one from costco for about 50 bucks more - read reviews stating that its not a normal model that it was made just for costco and is sub par.  I can't really see spending 500 on mixer - since I am a hobby baker that also volunteers for icing smiles.  I've looked at other types and I'm just so confused.  I am thinking to do the one with the glass bowl and buy a stainless steel bowl for it and pray for the best.

Advice please?

Thanks,

Judi

6 replies
aldonza Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aldonza Posted 17 Jul 2017 , 3:24am
post #2 of 7

I love my kitchenaid. I have an artisan 5 qt that I got on amazon. I got the cheapest color ( certain colors are priced higher) $216 NEW... NOT refurbished! I make my meatball and meatloaf mix in there. I use it for anything that requires mixing...gotta get my monies worth. it has already paid for itself. you will love it!

mellee2012 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mellee2012 Posted 17 Jul 2017 , 11:49am
post #3 of 7

Look at other brands, I got a Cuisinart instead of a kitchen-aid, bigger bowl and stronger motor for cheaper.  Had it two years and never had an issue.  I love it.

BakerBlackCat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakerBlackCat Posted 17 Jul 2017 , 3:40pm
post #4 of 7