My First Wedding Cake Samples

Baking By becksbaking Updated 4 Jun 2017 , 4:55pm by SandraSmiley

becksbaking Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
becksbaking Posted 3 Jun 2017 , 6:43am
post #1 of 5

Hello incredible brain-trust,

So, I am very new to the baking world. I did my first wedding cake at the start of the year for a family member and from this have had multiple cake requests.

In a months time I am going to have my first sample session for a wedding and I am trying to gather all the information I can.

I am unsure if I should provide cupcakes or cakes slices for the sampling?

I have provided them with a list of flavours that they could chose from and they have selected choc mud, caramel mud, white mud and red velvet.

Should I then provide a range of buttercream flavours to sample with these?

I am not charging them for the samples ( I had no idea that you were supposed to!)

Thanks in advance and sorry for my novice questions!

4 replies
nikki4199 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nikki4199 Posted 3 Jun 2017 , 6:59pm
post #2 of 5

I have only done a few but I did cake slices on a plate then had another plate with assorted frosting.

The only problem is the money you are spending making all the cake flavors and then all the different frosting options. I usually let them only pick 2-3 flavors. 

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 3 Jun 2017 , 8:20pm
post #3 of 5