How Much To Charge For This Cake

Business By aldonza Updated 17 May 2017 , 2:13am by aldonza

aldonza Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aldonza Posted 14 May 2017 , 1:44am
post #1 of 10

Hi! I'm just starting out and would like to know if my price point is in the same ballpark. I used a program to figure out. Didn't realize how much I spend on ingredients whoa! It is 2-layers double chocolate layer cake, buttercream frosting, ganache, chocolate covered strawberries and chocolate brittle. Thank you. you might have to scroll to see the pic...I did.

9 replies
aldonza Posted 14 May 2017 , 1:47am
post #2 of 10

How Much To Charge For This Cake

SandraSmiley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandraSmiley Posted 14 May 2017 , 2:33am
post #3 of 10

I am not much help Aldonza, because I sell very few cakes and never anything like this.  I have heard, though, that some bakers triple the cost of their expenses and add a bit extra for their time.  Maybe that is a starting place anyway.

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 14 May 2017 , 11:16am
post #4 of 10

idk $150?

FlRugbyChick Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FlRugbyChick Posted 15 May 2017 , 3:18am
post #5 of 10

I  would change $75 to $100 for an 8in cake like this depending on the cost of ingredients. Another tip, you should cover the cake board in foil. Also, I normally use 2 of those boards hot glued together. Early in my cake career I would use a single board to save money. It wasn't until I made a cake, picked it up, and it cracked down the middle, that I realized that the small expense is worth it.

kristiemarie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kristiemarie Posted 15 May 2017 , 2:13pm
post #6 of 10

I figure it like this:

Cost of ingredients +  (total number of hours to make (baking and deco) x price per hour).  You have to set your price per hour.  I would say at least $10 per hour, maybe more depending on where you live.

kristiemarie Posted 15 May 2017 , 2:17pm