Naked 3 Tier Wedding Cake

Baking By Apercival04 Updated 4 Aug 2017 , 2:17pm by JasmineNewton

Apercival04 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Apercival04 Posted 4 Feb 2017 , 11:52am
post #1 of 6

Hi, sorry to sound stupid...by what is crumbing? And how do you do it to stop the cribs from the cake mixing in with your BC? 

i am completely new to this and make cakes at home as a hobby for me, however I want to attempt to make my own naked 3 tiered wedding cake with BC and jam (please advise if Jam aswell is not a good idea?) and icing sugar sprinkled over the too with strawberries and blueberries over the top. 

trouble is, I will have to make the cake 2 days before the wedding...will the cake keep for this amount of time? And what is the best way/place to store it? I could Do the BC the day before at the venue but won't have time to do this on the morning of the wedding!

thanks 

Aimee

5 replies
ConnieCakes14 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ConnieCakes14 Posted 4 Feb 2017 , 12:47pm
post #2 of 6

Crumb coat is the first thin layer of frosting spread over the cake. It helps "glue" the crumbs and keeps the little crumbs from getting everywhere. It will look very messy. I do a super thin layer covering the whole cake, then freeze the cake for 20 minutes getting the frosting stiff, then add the second, thicker layer of frosting. The second layer will be free of crumbs and looking clean, because the crumbs were "glued" in the first thin layer of frosting.

Here's some good info on naked cakes. This person suggest putting the cake together the day of the wedding. Which makes sense because frosting acts as a barrier help keep the cake moist. But with very little frosting on a naked cake, it will dry quickly. http://www.stylesweetca.com/blog/2016/1/6/how-to-make-a-naked-cake
 Hope this helps!

ConnieCakes14 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ConnieCakes14 Posted 4 Feb 2017 , 12:57pm
post #3 of 6

make my own fillings. It's actually very simple!