Help With Writing

Decorating By JamiJ1225 Updated 21 Dec 2016 , 10:15pm by kakeladi

JamiJ1225 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JamiJ1225 Posted 19 Dec 2016 , 10:00pm
post #1 of 9

When I pipe a word and I'm done with the letter, how do I stop the icing from coming out further.  Does this make sense?  I was making a Y and then the last part of it went longer than the other.

8 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 19 Dec 2016 , 11:27pm
post #2 of 9

What is happening is you are still applying pressure on the piping bag.   Yes, I know, you don't think so but you really are :)   You need to completely release your hand pressure from the bag, count to 2 before lifting away from the cake

JamiJ1225 Posted 19 Dec 2016 , 11:33pm
post #3 of 9

I just took up decorating cakes as a hobby, so I'm very new at this.  That makes complete sense!  Any tips on how to seal the pastry bag so it's not all squeezing out of the top? :)  I tried one of those black things with the silver handles you use on stacks of paper in the office, but it was so so.. 

cakingandbaking Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakingandbaking Posted 20 Dec 2016 , 3:42am
post #4 of 9

I use a chip clip like this. It works perfectly! Make sure you leave enough space at the top of the bag so that frosting won't squeeze out, twist the bag a couple times, and clip one of these on.

[postimage id="6085" thumb="900"]

kakeladi Posted 20 Dec 2016 , 9:17pm
post #5 of 9
tips on how to seal the pastry bag so it's not all squeezing out of the top? :)  
Read more at http://www.cakecentral.com/forum/t/833478/help-with-writing#igxxHTIvQp3vDF03.99

Quote by @JamiJ1225 on 21 hours ago  ............ tips on how to seal the pastry bag so it's not all squeezing out of the top? :)  .....

You most liekly are filling the bag too much.  They should only be filled about 1/2 full, then the top is treated differently depending on if it'a parchment or pastry bag (cloth or plastic etc).