Need Help With Chemistry Cake Please

Decorating By gen2026 Updated 18 May 2016 , 1:55pm by gen2026

gen2026 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gen2026 Posted 13 May 2016 , 12:05am
post #1 of 38

I have been trying to figure out how to post for the past couple of days and couldn't get a new topic started.  I figured out today that it was the website and not me.....  

I am a novice cake decorator - I have done a few things, but it has been about 5 - 6 years since I have done any.  I am attempting a cake for my daughter's college graduation on Saturday.  She has a double major in chemistry and biology and will be attending pharmacy school in the fall. This is really last minute because we has scheduled a family party following graduation.  I have a basic plan but I could use some help.

The cake will be a french vanilla cake made in a regular 9 X 13 sheet pan iced with buttercream frosting.   My local walmart is out of parchment so I am going to pray hard it comes out clean!  Then I hope to make 3 books to stack in the right corner of the cake.  I figure the largest book can only be about 6 X 4" in order to not take up too much of the cake.  I have watched several tutorials on making the books with fondant - and hopefully I will be able to accomplish that.  But, I do have a question:   HOW far can the books stick "off" or hang off the edge of each other (so that they are not just sitting in a straight stack)??  I know the cake will have to support it owns weight on those corners and I have to travel about an hour with it on not the best roads so I wasn't sure if it could overhang at all.

Then on the left side, I am going to attempt to make a flask and beaker.  I think I am going to try to model the flask out of rice Krispie treats and then cover with either buttercream or fondant.  Several questions:

1.  Which would be best fondant or buttercream?