A Couple Of Stupid Questions - Sugar Paste Flowers And Individually Piped Buttercream Roses

Decorating By hep275 Updated 7 Apr 2016 , 7:25pm by hep275

hep275 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hep275 Posted 3 Apr 2016 , 5:53pm
post #1 of 11

OK so these are probably stupid questions  but I am a reasonably novice homebaker who is making cupcakes for the wedding of a friend's daughter.  One of the flavours she wants is a lemon drizzle cupcake which I thought i might decorate with lemon buttercream with a viola flower - i have  a cutter and will be practicing but its occurred to me that the flowers will need to be made from modelling paste not fondant that i would use to cover a cake - i know the modelling paste can be rolled much thinner so the flowers will be more delicate, but they will also dry out more than fondant would - will they be edible?  Do wedding guests generally eat all the decorations on cupcakes?  Should i use something other than modeling paste?

Also I am intending to pipe individual buttercream roses to go on the plain vanilla flavoured cupcakes she wants - how far in advance can these individual flowers be made and still be edible?  Can I make them and freeze them?

Many thanks in advance, Helen

10 replies
Jinkies Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jinkies Posted 3 Apr 2016 , 6:14pm
post #2 of 11

I think modelling paste is the same thing as gumpaste.  In that case, it is technically edible, but no one would enjoy eating it.  They can be removed or you use something like modelling chocolate.

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 3 Apr 2016 , 6:17pm
post #3 of 11

Most of the flowers I have made over the years were in fondant.  They dry hard/solid enough for easy handling.  I can get fondant rolled quite thin.  You can always add some Tylose powder OR use Wilton's dry gumpaste mix.  Either will help the fondant be less delicate/soft but yes, it does dry out a  bit faster.  These can be made weeks in advanced.