Newbie Needing Help!

Decorating By Mazcooke Updated 11 Feb 2016 , 6:10am by kakeladi

Mazcooke Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mazcooke Posted 10 Feb 2016 , 12:30pm
post #1 of 5

Hi everyone.

I am a hobby baker. A friend from my mom's work has asked me to make a cake for her. She wants 3 tiers. I have only ever done single tiers. Could you give me some basic direction as to where to start? I have a madeira cake recipe which is very stable so I am sure it can hold weight. 

The other thing is she wants to serve 60  people. What size cakes should I use? 

Finally, it is due next Saturday. I work all day so only have limited time in the evening. When could I make the cakes and start icing and decorating? A timeline type of help here. 

Thank you so much everyone!!

4 replies
mimistine619 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mimistine619 Posted 10 Feb 2016 , 5:30pm
post #2 of 5

I am a newbie (6 months in) as well.  When I stack my cakes I use the fat straws and cut them to height.  One in the center and usually 4 or 5 fat straws about 3 inches away from the center, then place the cake on-top.  Then on the very top layer I use a thin dowel or skewer (the height of the entire cake) and go straight down the center of all the layers, this way the layers won't move around and it gives you more stability.  I hope that helps.

I know that when I first started doing this I was surprised at just how heavy cakes got.  Make sure you use a sturdy cake base,

Best of Luck.

Minileo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Minileo Posted 10 Feb 2016 , 7:05pm
post #3 of 5

Here is attached a picture to show you the serving size for you cakes. I would use wooden dowel ($2 for 10 long dowels from walmart)  as few customers don;t like plastic straws in their cakes. Like ministine619 said I too prefer to insert a regular skewer in the middle of the top tier of cake pushed all the way to the bottom for better stability & no slipping while moving.