Air Bubbles In Buttercream-Iced Cakes

Decorating By dooberbug Updated 16 Oct 2015 , 5:44pm by dooberbug

dooberbug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dooberbug Posted 16 Oct 2015 , 12:50pm
post #1 of 4

Hello fellow cakers, I have searched and searched the forums but I haven't found any responses that fully satisfy, so I'm going to raise the question again. I am an experienced professional, self-taught, www.SensationalCakesAndMore.com. The cakes look great, except... GOITERS! LOL, that's my name for the sometimes HUGE air bubbles that appear out of nowhere on a finished buttercream cake after standing several hours or overnight. Same problem when using buttercream under fondant. I have tried the following techniques to avoid them:

1. Jessica Harris' techniques (i.e. remove cake from pan while still warm, refrigerate with a pound or two of weight on it, stack tiers, refrigerate with weight)

2. Freeze layers, then fill, weight overnight

3. Minimize air bubbles in buttercream (avoid overbeating), take care while filling/icing to avoid trapping air between the icing and the cake

Yet I'm still seeing these AWFUL AIR BUBBLES frequently, like maybe 15-20% of the time... far too often!! I want to figure out how to prevent them, not just get rid of them after they occur. I'm trying to figure out if the excess air that's yearning to escape is from the cake, the icing, or the technique I'm using to fill/ice. I came across a suggestion this morning to poke a hole straight down through the whole cake to give any trapped air an easy escape route, then patch it while finishing. I'll try this, but still looking for more...

Can anyone provide tried-and-true solutions, or even scientific explanations for this phenomenon? I'm embarrassed as a so-called "veteran" to still have this problem, but I figure I can't be the only one, so I'm hoping y'all can laugh at me then show me the error of my ways! flushed.png

3 replies
costumeczar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile