Wedding Cake Serving Sizes???

Baking By cakesandknits Updated 25 Aug 2015 , 2:48am by johnson6ofus

cakesandknits Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesandknits Posted 24 Aug 2015 , 12:37am
post #1 of 5

So I'm pretty new to doing weddings.... I've done tons of party cakes using the Wilton serving chart (http://www.wilton.com/cakes/making-cakes/baking-serving-guide.cfm) but I'm nervous about trusting the larger numbers for wedding cake sizes.  In your exerience, do catering staff actually get these bigger numbers of servings per tier?? or do you more experienced bakers always give slightly bigger tiers in case the staff cut the pieces too big to avoid a cake shortage?  Thanks!!!

4 replies
TheresaCarol Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TheresaCarol Posted 24 Aug 2015 , 1:36am
post #2 of 5

Always leave a cutting chart for the catering staff and be sure to talk to the person in charge about how the cake is to be cut.  I was asked to do a cake and drive it four hours to Chicago because the cost of cake in the Chicagoland area was astronomical.  Not only did I have a three tiered cake but 5 sheet cakes to boot.  The grooms mother had to go to the kitchen and tell the staff to cut the cake pieces larger because the staff was so used to cutting cake smaller.  Because cake is so expensive, they don't cut very big pieces.  Every staff is different and every geographic location has a standard.  I learned a great deal from this experience about the importance of a cake cutting chart and communication with the catering staff.

johnson6ofus Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
johnson6ofus Posted 24 Aug 2015 , 4:33am
post #3 of 5

Don't forget...if you "sell" based on party servings and the caterer cuts by "wedding" servings, an unhappy bridal family will be complaining that you sold them too much cake when they have it left over. And rather than getting bonus points for providing bigger servings, you will get slammed for "over selling" the amount of cake needed.