Tips On Settling Filled Sponge!

Decorating By Sophk Updated 6 Aug 2015 , 12:52am by Jinkies

Sophk Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sophk Posted 1 Aug 2015 , 11:27am
post #1 of 14

This is my first time posting. Please excuse any mistakes in my post process! 

Ok heres my thing. Im an experienced decorator and have never needed to do the settling process. I think its time to add this to my cake making process. I have some questions please. So I have read that you settle after filling. I bake freeze thaw then fill my 3 layer sponge with SMBC and jam. Do I now settle before covering in more buttercream?? And at room temp? With a weight? And as the cakes arent covered in BC wouldnt these need to be covered somehow for settling or I assume theyd dry out? And how long would ai settle them? Im confused and have a great cake planned so I want to settle the cakes this afternoon.

Please help!

Sophie

13 replies
Jinkies Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jinkies Posted 1 Aug 2015 , 1:47pm
post #2 of 14

Personally, anything with filling other than buttercream and ganache (especially strawberry), I would settle over night.  If you don't have time for that, put a weight on it and either do a crumb coat or cover with plastic wrap and let it settle for at least a few hours.  I always poke a hole with a lolly stick or skewer through the top of the cake all the way to the bottom to give the air and easy access route.  You can just cover the hole later.

Good luck :)

bashini Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bashini Posted 1 Aug 2015 , 2:08pm
post #3 of 14

Hi Sophie,

I always let me cakes settle. I bake in the morning and then torte and fill in the evening/night and let it settle over night. The next day crumb coat/ganache, cover and decorate.

cara1982 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cara1982 Posted 1 Aug 2015 , 8:56pm
post #4 of 14

Bashini - how do you store your cake overnight?

I would worry that a cake exposed to the air would become stale or dry?