Help!!! What Is The Best Type Of Cake To Use For A Wedding Cake!?!?

Decorating By ajermakow05 Updated 29 Aug 2014 , 6:18pm by -K8memphis

ajermakow05 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ajermakow05 Posted 25 Aug 2014 , 11:07pm
post #1 of 31

Hello everyone! I'm fairly new at this site.. this is my second post. Anyways... I have been decorating cakes for a couple years now, but this past year I have been the busiest I have ever been. I started off with cupcakes and slowly worked my way to some stacked cakes and working with fondant and now wedding cakes. 

One of my really good friends is getting married this October... she asked me to do her cake. She wants a 4 tiered (square) all buttercream, with just burlap around the base of each tier with navy blue ribbon in the middle of the burlap and sunflowers scattered all over the cake. My question is... what is the best type of cake to use for wedding cakes? I want this cake to look great and taste amazing. I'm thinking of using a cake that is a little on the heavier dense side? will that work? I do watch Cake Boss a lot and I see that he usually uses spongecake for the wedding cakes. I personally have never tasted spongecake before but I can see that it's more dense and that it can be stacked very well..I want the cake to be moist as well ( along with everyone else in this world). Will spongecake be too dry? I just don't want the cake to be too soft if that makes any sense... IDK PLEASE HELP and if you guys have any outstanding recipes for me to try that would be GREATLY appreciated!!!  Everyone on here seems to know what they are talking about so I trust you guys!!!!:grin:

30 replies
winniemog Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
winniemog Posted 25 Aug 2014 , 11:14pm
post #2 of 31

AWhat cake do you normally use? And what cake does the bride want?

I wouldn't call a sponge cake a dense cake, it's pretty much the opposite, a light and fluffy cake.

ajermakow05 Posted 25 Aug 2014 , 11:19pm
post #3 of 31