Cut Off Date For Details?

Business By ale122809 Updated 20 Aug 2014 , 4:52pm by cai0311

ale122809 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ale122809 Posted 15 Jul 2014 , 6:01pm
post #1 of 4

AHello!

Question for the experienced bakers (I'm new to the baking business and still trying to figure out the ins and outs of customers and ordering)

So, I have two customers that have ordered a cake from me next month (the 9th to be exact). Both were originally for the same day but customer A decided yesterday evening that she wants to change the date for the following weekend, no biggie but customer B still hasn't given me any details as to size, design, flavors of what she wants for her cake. So far the only info I have for this customer is that it's for a little girls 3rd birthday. What is your standard procedure for collecting info from the customer and do you jave a cut off date for when they have to have the necessary info to you and a cut off of when changes are no longer allowed?

Customer A ordered a cake for 60 with a ton of detail but since her original email to me to make the cake (in June) she has now changed her mind on design due to the price of cake 3 times. She tried to change it again last night and I told her this is her final change because I need to start buying the supplies. Because all my cakes have been for family and friends only I haven't required a deposit but looks like it's going to be necessary because of this customer, but even with a deposit when do you finally say NO I cannot change or give you a new quote for different sizes to accommodate your new budget?

I'm going crazy over here...lol

TIA!!

3 replies
noosalucy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
noosalucy Posted 13 Aug 2014 , 1:15pm
post #2 of 4

Hi,

Firstly, definately take deposits.  I advise when providing qutoes that nothing is booked in and no dates are saved until a deposit is paid.