Loyalty

Business By teddy0826 Updated 27 Feb 2014 , 7:15am by cakebaby2

teddy0826 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
teddy0826 Posted 16 Feb 2014 , 7:51pm
post #1 of 12

HI EVERYONE,

I just need to vent and ask for your advice.  I have been working in the same bakery for the passed 2 years now and love my position and the people I work with.   I was made manager about 8 months ago to help out my boss who is getting burned out of the business.  I bent over backwards for her, the business and the staff.  It is a very small group of us as well.  I had heard from the cracks that she is selling the business now for the last 2 months from a very very good source.  Everything is starting to add up and I can not believe she did not pull me a side and explain everything that is going on.  What would you do?

11 replies
IAmPamCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
IAmPamCakes Posted 16 Feb 2014 , 7:55pm
post #2 of 12

AThat's a tough question. It's really none of your business, what she does with hers, so she is not obligated at all to discuss it with you. You are an employee, not a partner. When the time is right, I'm sure she will approach you to have the conversation. She may be trying to figure out herself, how she wants to handle it.

Norasmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Norasmom Posted 16 Feb 2014 , 8:00pm
post #3 of 12

I would not take this personally.   She may still be making up her mind and there may also be legal reasons she is not saying anything.  Even though you are a good employee, there is no obligation for her to share this information with you.

In the corporate world businesses are sold overnight and no one but the CEO and his lawyers may know until the next day.

You don't even know if it is true.  Maybe you should ask her in person.

teddy0826 Posted 16 Feb 2014 , 8:13pm
post #4 of 12