Baking A 14 Inch Round Cake In Home Oven

Decorating By LEMONTREECAKES Updated 8 Jul 2013 , 5:50am by cakeuk

LEMONTREECAKES Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LEMONTREECAKES Posted 26 Feb 2013 , 10:51am
post #1 of 15

Firstly apologies if this is not the right forum to be asking this question.

I am new to the cake business and am starting a cake business from home soon. I wanted to know how would i ever be able to bake a 14 inch round cake in my home oven? Has anybody come across this problem, and if yes, what is the solution to this? Please can anyone help me?

14 replies
scrumdiddlycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scrumdiddlycakes Posted 26 Feb 2013 , 12:16pm
post #2 of 15

I bake them all the time at home, are you worried about it not baking all the way through?

I use an upside down flower nail in the middle of my bigger cakes if I am worried about that.

If not that, what are you concerned about? I did live in a flat in Scotland for a couple months that had a tiny oven, I couldn't even fit a cookie sheet into it. If it's something like that, I would invest in a larger oven asap :)

LEMONTREECAKES Posted 26 Feb 2013 , 1:59pm
post #3 of 15

Hello,

thank you for your reply. Yes I am worried about my oven being too small. Its just a single oven and I was just wondering if i got a wedding order where the bride wants a 14inch round cake or bigger whether my oven would support that. 

But thank you for your tip on the flower nail. I will give that a try. Thank you so much for your help.

:)

Spireite Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Spireite Posted 26 Feb 2013 , 7:37pm
post #4 of 15

I only have a standard size oven and managed a 12" Round fruit  last year.  I double lined the tin with brown paper and extra brown paper around the outside tied with string.  I also loosely covered the top with grease proof for the first hour of cooking.