Things Not To Ask/say To A Baker!

Decorating By step0nmi Updated 20 Oct 2016 , 2:28pm by ch5964

Pastrybaglady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pastrybaglady Posted 15 Oct 2013 , 4:29pm
post #2161 of 3221

I'm a home baker and I've been baking for over 30 years.  I have only gotten into decorating recently so I don't have any cake stories but I was known for baking bread and pastry.  I made bagels, challah, croissants, puff pastry, etc...  It used to drive me crazy when people would ask me, "Wow, this is sooo good!  What kind of bread maker do you have?"  I would always say, "I have it with me, want to see?" and I hold up my hands.

IAmPamCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
IAmPamCakes Posted 15 Oct 2013 , 4:31pm
post #2162 of 3221

AI get asked if I use a bread maker sometimes too. I hate that.

smittyditty Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
smittyditty Posted 15 Oct 2013 , 4:32pm
post #2163 of 3221

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pastrybaglady 

I'm a home baker and I've been baking for over 30 years.  I have only gotten into decorating recently so I don't have any cake stories but I was known for baking bread and pastry.  I made bagels, challah, croissants, puff pastry, etc...  It used to drive me crazy when people would ask me, "Wow, this is sooo good!  What kind of bread maker do you have?"  I would always say, "I have it with me, want to see?" and I hold up my hands.

haha ya people are stupid

hbquikcomjamesl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hbquikcomjamesl Posted 15 Oct 2013 , 5:17pm
post #2164 of 3221

Yes. Just as the tool I use to mix frosting, beat eggs, and mix my turkey-loaf (i.e., a dinner fork) is powered by elbow grease. The few times I've participated in the baking of any kind of bread, other than from, say, Bridgford's frozen dough, (back when I was in elementary school! We churned our own butter, too.), it was all hand-kneaded.