Buttercream Melting While Piping Icing On Cake

Decorating By JPepper Updated 16 Jun 2012 , 9:20pm by JPepper

JPepper Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JPepper Posted 13 Jun 2012 , 8:59pm
post #1 of 9

Hi there icon_biggrin.gif

This is my very first post! I am hoping to learn lots and lots from all the professionals here icon_biggrin.gif I am fairly new to cake/cupcake decorating....well not totally new...I've been doing it for years but never professionally. I am now getting more into decorating cakes using buttercream only because I can't stand the taste of fondant...it looks nice but tastes gross! LOL!

Anyway, I was decorating a cake the other day for my sister's birthday and thought I would try my hands at the basket weave design for the sides of the cake. I checked out Youtube to find videos and off I went! Everything was going extremely well and it was looking really great until around the last quarter of the cake! I guess holding the icing bag started to melt the buttercream and the last section of the basket weave design wasnt as detailed at the rest. I am wondering if there is a way to prevent this from happening? Should I be wearing gloves maybe? Or maybe I should have refrigerated the icing in the bag before decorating? I live in Vancouver, BC where the weather does not really get all that hot and even if we are lucky enough to get good weather we have central air conditioning so I know that the temperature on the day I made the cake is not a factor. I must have really hot hands or something! LOL!

Thanks in advance!

JPepper

8 replies
CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 13 Jun 2012 , 9:10pm
post #2 of 9

Use a spare bag when the first gets too warm.

sweettreat101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweettreat101 Posted 13 Jun 2012 , 9:11pm
post #3 of 9