Buttercream.....

Decorating By PrettySparkly Updated 18 May 2012 , 11:34am by DeniseNH

PrettySparkly Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PrettySparkly Posted 17 May 2012 , 10:31am
post #1 of 5

Hi,

I'm new here, hello, and have a question about buttercream. Before you start on at me I have seen the topic about the 'All You Ever Wanted To Know About Buttercream' (which I think is a fab idea), but I need a rather more immediate answer if possible!

I have been making cakes for many years, just recently I have been branching out into making celebration cakes for friends and family. Usually, my covering of choice would be marzipan and fondant for a fruit cake, or buttercream and fondant for sponge cakes (a thin layer of buttercream, and then a covering of fondant).

However, a friend has asked me to make her a wedding cake, she wants just a single layer 12inch carrot cake with a vanilla buttercream frosting.

My problem is that the cake is for a Saturday, but it looks as if my friend will need me to deliver the cake on Friday morning, meaning that I would have to bake and ice the cake on Thursday evening.

My question - will the buttercream icing (buttercream, icing sugar, vanilla extract) last ok until Saturday? My friend is getting married on the Friday and then having an Afternoon Tea party on the Saturday. I would dread to think that everyone would end up with food poisoning because the buttercream had gone rancid!

The cake would be in a box and not refrigerated (I've seen the horror stories about sweaty, melting cakes!)

If anyone could please put my mind to rest I would be most grateful! If it comes down to it I will recommend that she has a fondant layer to protect the buttercream but this will put her costs up.

As a final question, does any one have any tips on how to get that perfectly smooth coating of buttercream? Would you have to put on a initial think layer to seal the crumbs, let it set, and then put on a second layer to get the proper finish?