Is This A Reasonable Price For A 4 Tier Wedding Cake?

Business By Blueridgebuttercream Updated 8 Dec 2013 , 6:28pm by jason_kraft

Blueridgebuttercream Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Blueridgebuttercream Posted 18 Mar 2012 , 10:26pm
post #1 of 108

So I got a request for a wedding cake to feed 180, fondant with modeling chocolate fall leaves. The customer gave me a picture of a 4 tier buttercream round cake and said she wanted a similar design, but square tiers. Based on a calculated cost of $160 for ingredients (scratch baking) and supplies, and the other local shop (the one I bought my wedding cake from, probably box mix cakes) being listed as $3-4/serving, I quoted her $2.50 per serving, or $450 total, because I'm just starting out and trying to get more business. My other emails she replied within the hour, now she hasn't replied for a week, so I expect she's decided it was too much. Was that price nuts?

(Just to forestall the questions - home-baker, not inspected yet, but legal in VA, licensed, insurance in the works)

107 replies
Edit Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Edit Posted 18 Mar 2012 , 10:45pm
post #2 of 108

Your price was waaaaay too low for a fondant covered cake with modeling chocolate accents.
If she decides to take your offer, you will be upset the whole time while making the cake and wishing you had charged more.
Oh, and there's clean up time.....

peg818 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
peg818 Posted 18 Mar 2012 , 10:46pm
post #3 of 108

You might be to high for her. But at $450- $160 for ingredients your looking at a gross profit of $290 that's not giving you much for your time. Plus you have to figure the cost of your utilities and you gas for delivery boards rowels and all the little things we forget to count. In the end unless you really work fast you probably aren't even making minimum wage

Karema Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Karema Posted 19 Mar 2012 , 2:18am
post #4 of 108