Cake Sunk

Decorating By jjohnson2610 Updated 13 Mar 2012 , 6:59pm by VaBelle

jjohnson2610 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jjohnson2610 Posted 12 Mar 2012 , 10:14pm
post #1 of 14

So I am just starting out baking and decorating cakes. I tried using a wet towel wrapped around the cake pan instead of the bake even strips. I kept testing it and at about 60 mins the tester came out clean so I took it out of the oven and as I let it rest the cake sunk. After it raised like crazy. So I was hoping that I could save it and still use it but the middle was undone even after I tested it in a few places. Any ideas on what I did wrong?

13 replies
Karema Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Karema Posted 12 Mar 2012 , 10:26pm
post #2 of 14

What size pan did you use? There are several possiblities.

1. Your oven's tempature could be off. Invest in an oven thermometer.

2. Depending on the size of you cake you may need a heating core or need to stick a flower nail it the center before you pour the batter so it heats through the middle to cook evenly.

3. Your recipe could have a lot of liquid of pudding so it is very moist and needs to cook at a lower temp for longer. But I would know that unless I knew what recipe you were using.

HTH

jjohnson2610 Posted 12 Mar 2012 , 10:52pm
post #3 of 14

It was an 8in round. It calls for 1/2c. milk and 1 c boiling water. Other than that no liquid.

mistresslucille Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mistresslucille Posted 12 Mar 2012 , 11:49pm
post #4 of 14

How early did you start opening the oven to test? (much before the end of the baking time the recipe recommended?) If you open the oven too early it can cause cakes to sink sometimes because of the change in temperature.

It could also just be a bad recipe! I've had recipes that just sank every time no matter what I did.

Other option is - sometimes cakes test as cooked and aren't. I had that happen a month or so ago - it's a massive pain but it just can't be helped sometimes!