Frustrated Beginner!

Decorating By klamb17 Updated 29 Nov 2011 , 11:07pm by LoveMeSomeCake615

klamb17 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
klamb17 Posted 29 Nov 2011 , 1:57am
post #1 of 9

So I am a beginner at making cakes. I think I am learning more about things going wrong that right! icon_cry.gif I have made MMF before and it turned out great. Anyway I tried a new recipe that called for 1/2 cup crisco in the mix. I thought this sounded odd, but I tried it, and I hated it!!! I had my cake cooled shaped and dirty iced, ready for a nice topping of fondant. HA not! The fondant was soooo pliable I could not roll it without it breaking and stretching way to much. It was like loose putty! Since I didn't have any more marshmallows (and these cakes are just for us for my practice) I decided to try the ganache again. The first few times it was too runny, to much cream I guess. Then tonight it was PERFECT! But the bad thing is it taste so nasty with buttercream icing icon_sad.gif So another 15 to 20 bucks down the drain! If only it didn't have the buttercream it would have been good, but I wanted to practice the MMF. So like I said I am learning more don'ts than do's...

Frustrated but definately not giving up.
Karen

8 replies
Smith2736 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Smith2736 Posted 29 Nov 2011 , 4:40am
post #2 of 9

Don't get too frustrated! It's all about practice. I'm new to this as well (started last February). I LOVE MMF - I've done maybe 8-10 cakes with it so far and it does get much easier as you play with it. I haven't seen the recipe with Crisco, it seems that it would make it too greasy. But if that ever happens, try working in a bunch of powdered sugar, that should make it easier to work with. I just microwave 1 bag marshmallows with a tiny bit of water, put some flavoring in (vanilla usually), then work in as much powdered sugar as I can until it's the texture I want. GOOD LUCK! icon_smile.gif

grandmomof1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile