Humidity Disaster

Decorating By Kitagrl Updated 4 Oct 2011 , 1:44am by BizCoCos

Kitagrl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kitagrl Posted 25 Sep 2011 , 12:59am
post #1 of 46

I have a regular venue I've been working with for about 5 months or so...I do between one and three weddings per week for them.

This week its been raining and humid all week long. On Friday I delivered three, 3 tiered cakes and one 8" party cake to them. They have an outdoor walk in cooler they have me store them in, so I just have to make one trip.

I stored some of the cakes in my fridges at home with no humidity problems whatsoever inside the fridges. Of course a little on the outside because its warm and soupy weather.

The venue lady texted me tonight with pictures that the fondant ribbon was falling/melting off the buttercream cake, they were all covered in water...red velvet cake was leaking pink through some of the buttercream, and one cake had a dreaded bubble! All these cakes were delivered just fine to their OUTDOOR walk in.

I have told her I would look into it but I'm convinced that their walk in is WAY WAY too humid. Every time the door opens, wet, rainy air rushes in and condenses. I think the only option would be for me to have to deliver AND set up every cake individually....which will be a pain in the butt, but I can't get these texts on Saturday night that my cakes were disasters and had puddles and bubbles and stripes melting off. I have NEVER had a complaint like that with ANY other cake I've ever delivered! But somehow at this venue I occasionally get complaints that something is "leaking" out of the cake, and now that stripes were falling off and she sent me a picture of water puddles and bubbles all over the surface of one cake. Really?????

A super soggy walk in cooler could cause all that right?

45 replies
WillowsCry Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
WillowsCry Posted 25 Sep 2011 , 1:11am
post #2 of 46