Do You Offer Tastings For Charity Events???

Business By brenda549 Updated 15 Sep 2011 , 3:32pm by johnson6ofus

brenda549 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brenda549 Posted 12 Sep 2011 , 5:19pm
post #1 of 37

I am donating a cake to a charity event in December. They have requested a tasting of 3 different cakes with 3 different fillings. If I were a bakery that had these just lying around, I would be okay with it. I am a per order baker/decorator. I also charge for tastings, and that charge is absorbed into the contract if signed. If I had cake orders for the requested flavors, I could just make a few extra cuppies, but the orders I have in the next few weeks are not for the flavors requested.

Any advice?

36 replies
mariacakestoo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mariacakestoo Posted 12 Sep 2011 , 5:21pm
post #2 of 37

So you're giving away cake for the event, and you're asking if you should give away cake for free before too? Uh, I wouldn't, but that's just me. I am happy to donate to worthy causes, but I'm not going out of way for people to be picky.

Cakewishes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakewishes Posted 12 Sep 2011 , 5:33pm
post #3 of 37

Yeah - I don't get that either. You are DONATING a cake (which includes your time and labor) and they are requesting a cake tasting! Really??? No way. I am sure it is for a worthy cause, but I think that if you are donating a cake you have the right to decide what flavor cake and filling you wish to donate. Be honest with the folks requesting the tastings; let them know that you are not a bakery that has extra cake/batter/fillings that are always available and that the cake flavor you will be donating is "such and such".

jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 12 Sep 2011 , 5:55pm
post #4 of 37

I would offer the tasting, but charge your normal tasting fee. That way, if the charity wants to pay for the tasting they can do so.

cakesbycathy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile