How Reliable Is Mm Fondant? Please Help!

Decorating By bakinhoney1980 Updated 22 Jul 2011 , 12:57am by gatorcake

bakinhoney1980 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bakinhoney1980 Posted 19 Jul 2011 , 8:44pm
post #1 of 15

I have an order for a 4-tiered square wedding cake done in fondant (I recommended Marshmallow for the taste) and they want scrollwork done on the front of the cake from top to bottom. I am pretty new at cake decoration especially using fondant and I want to know if marshmallow fondant will hold up and not bleed if I do buttercream scrollwork on the front.

I have so many questions and concerns about this. I live in Louisiana. The current temp is 100 and it is so humid you suffocate. I just don't know enough about fondant and its reliability. Can you do buttercream designs on the cake and have it hold up?

I have a second option of doing some fondant or gumpaste cutouts and adhering them to the cake. I am leaning towards this process b/c it allows me freedom from scrollwork.

Please, anyone give me some advice!

14 replies
cakestyles Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakestyles Posted 19 Jul 2011 , 8:48pm
post #2 of 15

I used to use MMF exclusively because I liked the taste, however in the summer I buy SatinIce fondant because it seems to hold up better in the humidity.

MMF is fine, but it's very "stretchy" to work with so if you're not used to that you may have problems covering the larger square tiers.

Also in my experience with it, it doesn't do well in the refrigerator. It seems to "sweat" and get "glossy" looking when you take it out of the fridge.

I think if it were me, I'd use SatinIce fondant or some other brand that you can get (not Wilton)

As far as the scrollwork on top of the MMF, it'll be ok as long as the MMF doesn't "sweat" and in LA humidity that is probably going to be an issue for you.

But, in the cooler months I have used MMF with BC scrollwork without any problems.

bakinhoney1980 Posted 21 Jul 2011 , 3:45pm