Carving Tall Cakes That Have Cardboard In Them

Decorating By artscallion Updated 5 Jul 2011 , 9:32pm by artscallion

artscallion Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
artscallion Posted 5 Jul 2011 , 8:07pm
post #1 of 6

I'm kind of new to carving so the answer is probably more obvious than I think. I'm making a large dome shaped cake. I'm starting with four 12" rounds stacked. From this, I'll carve the dome. I'll be using the cut off top corners for something else if you're wondering why I'm not graduating the size of the cakes I'm stacking.

My problem is that this will need some internal support as it will be 8" tall. So if I stack the four cakes with straws and cake board after the first two layers, how do I carve the dome shape with the cardboard there?

I though of stacking the cakes first, without support, then reassembling with support after it's all carved. But wouldn't adding all that filling (7 layers since I'll be torting the 4 layers of cake) and cardboard distort the lines of the dome?

When I see them carve on the cake shows, it looks like they are carving right through the cardboard. Can this be so? It seems a recipe for disaster to me.

5 replies
yummy_in_my_tummy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yummy_in_my_tummy Posted 5 Jul 2011 , 8:23pm
post #2 of 6

I've only done this once, so I'm no expert, but how I did it worked for me. I carved a beach bucket out of four 8" rounds. I stacked cake, BC, cake, covered the top in a thin layer of BC, doweled for support (of course), and then put a cardboard round on. The cardboard was approximately the size of the circumfrence of my beach bucket once finished. So, I was carving from 8" down to 6", midway thru my bucket was probably 7", so my cardboard was 7". Does that make sense? Then I repeated the layers and started carving.

So, to make a long explanation short, my cardboard was about the size I expected that portion of the finished cake to be icon_smile.gif

carmijok Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile