Icing Help

Decorating By sholliebaby76 Updated 20 Jun 2011 , 3:49am by cakification

sholliebaby76 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sholliebaby76 Posted 20 Jun 2011 , 1:57am
post #1 of 7

I am sorry if this has been asked and I cant find it being a newbie here.... but I have an icing recipe from my mother who once years and years ago owned a cake and candy shop, 4 cups powdered sugar, 1/2 shortening, 1/2 milk, almond or vanilla etc waht you want... well in her mixes it works GREAT. My hubby and myself have been wanting a Kitchen Aid mixer and finally got my lime green one... wellllll low and behold, icicng is not workingout wll for me... wayyyyyy to runny and then next batch I read online somewhere to use less milk I did and it was thick and clumpy! I am at a lost.. anyone had this happen or can help point me where I need to look or be!

Thanks for all replies I truly appericate the help here!!!

Shelly

6 replies
Jess155 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jess155 Posted 20 Jun 2011 , 2:19am
post #2 of 7

If it's runny, you've added too much liquid. If it's thick and clumpy, you need more liquid. You have to add liquid little by little until you get the consistency you want.

1/2 cup mild is waaaay too much liquid for 4 C. powdered sugar.

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 20 Jun 2011 , 2:20am
post #3 of 7

Your recipe gives a very small yield. For your KA at least double it and let it mix on lowest speed for as much as 10 minutes.
There are many, many wonderful b'cream icing recipes on this site. Go to the "recipe" forum and look for them.

nicunurse Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nicunurse Posted 20 Jun 2011 , 2:25am
post #4 of 7