What Would You Charge For This Corporate Account?

Business By forheavenscake Updated 18 Jun 2011 , 11:40pm by forheavenscake

forheavenscake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
forheavenscake Posted 17 Jun 2011 , 5:06pm
post #1 of 14

So my AMAZING husband has landed me an account with his work. They do a cake every month for all the birthday's in that given month. Up until now, they've had one of their employees go get cups, plates, forks, ice cream, cake etc and bring it back.

Now they're bringing me in and want it to be all inclusive. They want me to bring all the paper products, ice cream and my cake. I wont' up charge for the paper products, but what would you charge to do this for them? I live about 20 minutes from their office, so it would be a 40 minute drive round trip. We still have to work out a lot of the details but I'm new to all this and just curious to see what you guys would charge for this type of service?

Thanks for the opinions in advance!!

13 replies
jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 17 Jun 2011 , 5:11pm
post #2 of 14

I would charge the same as any other delivery: cost of ingredients (including the paper products) + cost of labor + per-order overhead cost (make sure you have liability insurance!) + 20-30% profit margin + delivery charge (we charge $1/minute round trip).

forheavenscake Posted 17 Jun 2011 , 5:15pm
post #3 of 14

Thank you Jason! I am in FL, so this is obviously all contingent on the governor signing the Cottage Food Law. I have not done "official" deliveries, so was not sure what to charge for something like that.

mombabytiger Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mombabytiger Posted 18 Jun 2011 , 12:00am
post #4 of 14

Congratulations! That sounds like fun! Will you be able to get creative and design a cake to suit the month?

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 18 Jun 2011 , 12:35am
post #5 of 14