Fillings For Wedding Cakes No Need To Refigerate

Baking By Braaatz Updated 4 May 2011 , 1:25am by sillywabbitz

Braaatz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Braaatz Posted 2 May 2011 , 5:11pm
post #1 of 8

I'm making a wedding cake in August and need some filling ideas. The tiers are going to be Strawberry, Chocolate, and Fudge Marble. The cake will not be able to be refrigerated because i am a home baker just starting out and have nothing big enough to keep the cake in. What are some fillings that would be able to withstand sitting out. I was told that the fondant helps the cake and filling stay fresh also. I need a filling that will not spoil and stay fresh until cake is cut. I usually make and decorate the cakes i do about a day in advance, they stay out on my counter till delivery and are always tastey and fresh. Does anyone else do this? Thanks for your help!!!

7 replies
sillywabbitz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sillywabbitz Posted 2 May 2011 , 5:22pm
post #2 of 8

I only ever refrigerate my cakes if I use cream cheese frosting. For the strawberry cake I like a true strawberry buttercream but fresh strawberries are very perishable so I use the following:

1 stick of butter room temp
10 oz jar of strawberry jam (seedless is preferred but not neck)
2 lbs of powdered sugar

I warm the jam in the microwave, stir until smooth. If there are seeds, I hold a hand strainer over the bowl and run the jam through. If it's hot let it cool a bit. Then mix the jam and butter together. Add powdered sugar to taste and consistency. I usually use the full bag if it's going to be warm and 3/4 of a bag if it's not too hot outside. This does not require refrigeration and you can choose any jam flavor you like.

Braaatz Posted 2 May 2011 , 6:41pm
post #3 of 8

That sounds great! I will have to try that when i do her tasting! Thank You So Much!!

Reyna Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Reyna Posted 2 May 2011 , 6:58pm
post #4 of 8