Is Royal Icing Good For Making Cake Toppers

Decorating By littlegreywitch Updated 7 Feb 2011 , 1:19pm by Jennifer353

littlegreywitch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
littlegreywitch Posted 7 Sep 2010 , 11:57pm
post #1 of 13

sorry all im really new at this and just wanted to know if im doing this right ... I want to make cakes for our granddaughter and for other celebrations and at the moment im using royal icing ...is it the same as fondant and will they keep the same please. if not where do i find the fondant. thanks all. ive made some cake toppers already and it is nice to work with.

12 replies
juststarted Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
juststarted Posted 9 Sep 2010 , 8:40pm
post #2 of 13

Although I personally didn't but people makes cake topper out of Royal Icing all the time. Not really sure what kind of topper you are talking about but royal icing tiara is one of the most popular one.

Erin3085 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Erin3085 Posted 9 Sep 2010 , 10:02pm
post #3 of 13

Royal icing and fondant are not the same. What are you wanting to use it for? To make designs/figures/images out of or to cover a whole cake? You can make a topper for a cake...as in figure that you adorn the top of a cake with...out of either one. But you can't really cover an entire cake with royal icing, or at least I wouldn't.

Happy caking! icon_smile.gif

littlegreywitch Posted 10 Sep 2010 , 1:00pm
post #4 of 13

oh ...ive been making teddies and frogs etc for on top of cakes and was going to try to ice a cake with it ... obviously that may not be a good idea ... i will have to find me some fondant ... should i swap to fondant for the teddie cake toppers as well??? ... the royal icing doesnt seam to become that hard but it sticks together well with water and was fun to create with. thank you for answering my queries as i truly am very new to this and do want to wow my family and friends when i do our granddaughters first birthday cake