What Is The Legal Definition Of Professional Cake Decorator

Decorating By Juneclever Updated 29 Jul 2010 , 11:29pm by Juneclever

Juneclever Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Juneclever Posted 27 Jul 2010 , 1:17am
post #1 of 17

I had a cake entered in our local county fair and was disqualified because they found out that I sell cakes occasionally. When I looked it up in Webster's dictionary, it says that a professional is someone who makes their livelihood from a profession. I am a nurse and do cakes on the side. I do not have a license and do not run a bakery. Am I a professional?

16 replies
cutthecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cutthecake Posted 27 Jul 2010 , 1:33am
post #2 of 17

I think anytime you accept money for performing a service, you can be considered a professional. That's not a true legal definition by any means (and there are many exceptions), but I think that's the logic.

cakeprof Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeprof Posted 27 Jul 2010 , 1:52am
post #3 of 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juneclever

I had a cake entered in our local county fair and was disqualified because they found out that I sell cakes occasionally. When I looked it up in Webster's dictionary, it says that a professional is someone who makes their livelihood from a profession. I am a nurse and do cakes on the side. I do not have a license and do not run a bakery. Am I a professional?

Well Websters is not final say on what a professional is. Even if the definition from Webster's is what a professional is that does not mean that your local county fair may have rules that state you cannot enter the contest if you sell cakes. I do not know if what you do makes you a professional legally, but it may be enough to disqualify you from a local contest.